The mistake that ended my career (in my fantastical mind, anyway)

So I am rereading my recently self-published novel, and discovered :::gasp::: a MISTAKE!!

I mean, not just the kind of mistake like using a comma when it should have been a period. Like, a BIG mistake. The kind where you open a book, read it and think “OMG, what a big mistake!”

An obvious one. What one might refer to as a “blooper” on a movie, that you spend the next few hundred years debating how in the WORLD the writers managed to miss THAT one.Β  Sheesh.

And no, I’m not going to tell you what it is, just that I have fixed it and it is updating on Amazon so no other copies get bought that contain said mistake. Yikes.

Why am I admitting to this? I don’t know, because for the half an hour of free time I have managed to find, I decided to use it to revisit the glory of reading my VERY OWN BOOK on my Kindle, I discover this mistake and… wow.

There is, I’ll admit, a SLIGHT possibility I am being a bit dramatic in my exhausted frame of mind… But no, indeed. It was a huge one. I could just say “phew, glad I fixed that” but sometimes it’s better to get it out.

Plus, I realize it’s been awhile since I’ve written and I miss all my blog friends and I miss writing. I think about my blog a lot, come up with ideas for it, but by the time I get home from school/work get done with homework and so on, so forth… Well, I sleep. Zzz…

Speaking of sleep…

Good night πŸ™‚

 

Stacey

β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”

*Buy Blood of Darkness, Book One of The Legends of Sangue*

* Learn about Blood of Darkness *

β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”

*Blood of Darkness, Book One of The Legends of Sangue*

* My Written Blog *

* My Author Page *

* All In Good Read *

*Have Some Laughs*

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The mistake that ended my career (in my fantastical mind, anyway)

  1. I do that all the time, so take solace in you are not alone.
    I will write a post for my blog, proofread it 5 or 6 times publish it, read it a little later and find the mistake. Granted thats not the same as in a book, but I proofed my book a few times, thought it was all set sent it to a professional editor and he found and fixed more (BTW my editor is a personal friend so it was free I dont have the $$ for that haha)

    • That sounds exactly the same, lol. I do the same thing with both my blogs and my books. You don’t catch them all, for some reason it’s impossible. It’s like you catch every mistake and more happen right after you’ve published it (for the 5th or sth time, lol) Right now, I’m on my fourth revision for my novel. I am super lucky Amazon lets me re-upload my title so I can fix my mistakes. It takes 12 hours or so to get back up on the thing live, but it’s still incredible. I’m glad you have someone to edit for you, it can get quite expensive!

Leave a Reply

