My fancy Italian journal and sleek English pen

(First of all, I want to say thank you to Jay, my best friend and editor, for sending me these items,Ā  because I know she reads my blog and is probably going to hate that I’m mentioning her in my post šŸ™‚ )

So here I am writing in my beautiful new blank journal (made in Italy) that my friend Jay just sent me, along with the beautiful new silver pen (Made in England), and think, “Wow, this would be a perfect writing tool to carry around with me.” See, I’ve been needing to carry something with me to make notes in, write down what people say, make lists of stuff I have to do, so on, so forth. Especially now that I am networking more, I can’t remember everything everyone says all the time.

And then, then the curse of productivity hits, and I blame the blank pages and fancy pen in my hand. I realize with these new tools, it’s going to make it a lot less easy to be unproductive and procrastinate. In half an hour I just went from debating to myself “Aw, this would be helpful if I did this….” (Usually a weeks long procrastination- I mean, project.) Now, in less than half an hour after writing down my ideas, I’m about to actually get started on the project itself. Not in “oh wouldn’t it be nice” form, but “this is how I’m going to do it” the pre-step to something ACTUALLY HAPPENING.

So, in retrospect, I must realize this book and this pen are not the enemies here. They are simply… magic. Magic that forces me to actually DO things instead of just think about them.

Now my mind is blown.

And I must get on with my project, because stopping in the middle to write this blog is bordering magic blasphemy, and I hate to think that happens when I go against something magical (Isn’t it, in books, that when something magical gets thwarted, something bad usually happens?) I don’t want to prove the magic book and pen wrong. I’ll keep a healthy fearful respect of them, and clear off my shelves.

Your crazy blogger,

Stacey

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “My fancy Italian journal and sleek English pen

  1. This is a picture of the pen: http://www.massardi.com/files/acatalog1/product/Parker_JOTTER.jpg
    This is the journal (imagine it as white, and it has stripes):

    šŸ˜‰
    J

Leave a Reply

