Today Is Where Your Book Begins… The Rest Is Still Unwritten

Serenerainleaves

As a writer, when I sit down to my quill and parchment, it is obviously distressing when words do not come to me. Because I love words, I’ve been thinking words all day, I’ve been “practicing” in my mind what I will write, what I want to say, where I would like to take my story, and now that I am sitting down to write it, the words are gone.

But I begin to rethink this phenomenon (known as “Writer’s Block”, should such a thing even exist) I am beginning to believe that there is no such thing. Why? Because words are always there. Perhaps there is something keeping you from finding them, or life’s distractions have hidden them from you and you may have to unravel a few layers of yourself to find them. (For those of you sitting there angrily shaking your heads, thinking “she has no idea what real writer’s block is!” Yes, I do. I’ve had to put projects aside for YEARS because I was stuck. I understand the frustration.)

But as with many things, maybe a different perspective is needed to understand this. Sometimes, being wordless is beautiful.

How?

Now that I have to temporarily place my project aside, I’m able to listen to the sounds around me. A recently rediscovered beautiful song, the noisy neighbors, even the television in the other room. It allows me to temporarily focus on something else, realize that the pressures I am putting on myself are utterly unneeded. There is nothing in this world that’s going to stop or crumble because I’m unable to find my words.

“Staring at the blank page before you, open up the dirty window, let the sun illuminate the words that you cannot find. Reaching for something in the distance, so close you can almost taste it, release your inhibitions.”- Natasha Bedingfield (“Unwritten”)

Maybe I just need to open my window, let in a little sunlight.

Maybe eat a little chocolate.

Namaste, everyone. Have a wonderful night (or day, as it may)

Stacey

*******************************************************************************

“I became insane, with long intervals of horrible sanity”

-Edgar Allan Poe

*******************************************************************************

cover    For more information on my published novels, click here!

thevillagepoetpress  Visit The Village Poet Press

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

