Doing It Gangnam Style

psy-gangnam-style-dance

So, I will not insult myself by saying I know the “why”s behind this video, song and dance. I can surmise that we’ve never had a musician from South Korea before, therefore the immediate popularity was unexpected but understandable. I could assume that we all needed a good laugh, and this provides just that. Possibly the allure of having a new single sung in Korean and the luster of foreign music is so strong and so enduring in this country. But somehow, in some way, this song went HUGE (the first Youtube video to hit over a billion views, in fact)

And I figured out why. Of course, so has many people. Nobody likes the song for the song, we like it for the DANCE. Yes, you know what I’m talking about.

I took the liberty of teaching myself said dance. Now that my dreams of dancing professionally are back on track (I know I know how many careers can one girl have? As many as I damn well want) I figured…. What the hell kind of dancer would I be if I didn’t know how to do it Gangnam Style????

And It. Is. FUN

Absurdly silly, but fun! Everyone should try it. I will advocate that. Try it, just once.

Of course, how dancing over the centuries went from this:

Dance3

And this:

dance1

To this:

Gangnamdance1

And this:

psy-gangnam-style-8

Is a little beyond me…. But still fun, none-the-less.

Anyway, I figure now that my massage business is taking off, my book sales are going up and I’m getting a handle on both, I’ll get back to dancing! Even put my dance mirror back up and spend a couple hours every day in front of it…

Doing it Gangnam Style!!

Stacey

 

*******************************************************************************

“I became insane, with long intervals of horrible sanity”

-Edgar Allan Poe

*******************************************************************************

cover    For more information on my published novels, click here!

thevillagepoetpress  Visit The Village Poet Press (My publishing company)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

