The New American-British-Parent Slang Dictionary

eagleflag

britainflagfunny-parents-talking-to-their-kids1

For no reason at all, I have concocted a list of slang words/phrases in three important English dialects: American, British and Parent. Many of these slang words are becoming intermingled in other dialects, cultures and people of different stations (for instance, sometimes Aunts or Grandparents are finding themselves speaking Parent more and more), so it is important to know them all.

Word: Cigarette

American: “Cig” or “Cigarette”

British: “Fag”

Parent: “If I ever catch you smoking I’ll…”

cig

Word: Restroom as in “I have to visit the restroom”

American: “Bathroom” as in “I have to go to the bathroom”

British: “Toilet” as in “I have to go to the toilet”

Parent: “Potty” as in “I have to tinkle in the potty”

restroom

Word: Intercourse

American: “Sex”

British: “Shag”

Parent: “What did you just say??”

taboo

Word: Drunk

American: “Shitfaced”

British: “Pissed”

Parent: “You better not be drunk!”

drunk-urinal

Word: Pet Names

American: “Sweetie”, “Honey”, “Baby”

British: “Darling”, “Love”, “My dear”

Parent: “Who’s my sweetest little sweetie-pie boo-boo??”

babyWord: Praise

American: “That’s great!”

British: “That’s brilliant!”

Parent: “My honor student can kick your honer student’s butt!”

honorstudentWord: Prayer

American: “Dear God”

British: “My Lord”

Parent: “If you don’t get in here right now I swear to God…”

3332643_f260Word: “Mother” and “Father”

American: “Mommy”, “Daddy”

British: “Mum”, “Daddy”

Parent: “I’m your mother, not your maid! Pick up after yourself!”

looklikemaid

And last but not least:

Word: Courtship

American: “Dating”

British: “Dating”

Parent: “You are not dating until you are at least thirty years old!”

Nodatinggirl

But of course, there is always the gender and British double standard.

britishboyI guess there’s a lot of eighteen year old boys dating thirty year old women. Who figured.

Well, I hope you enjoyed my new dictionary and find it useful in your every day vocabulary. Until next time… This time.

Stacey

funny-dad-shirt-daughters-dating1

******************************************************************************

“There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.”

-Ernest Hemingway

*******************************************************************************

cover    For more information on my published novels, click here!

thevillagepoetpress  Visit The Village Poet Press (My publishing company)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

