And…. ACTION!

I don’t have a lot of time, I must make this brief (haha, get it, “brief”). I’m sunburned and I must go put on some aloe, or who knows what may happen (Um, it might stay a little redder a little longer. Maybe itch a little.)

I have some challenges I must soon face. Massaging and choreographing and dancing and performing as a dead woman in one half a commercial (in the other half I’m alive) but I play somebody who is ten years older than myself. (Hey, in the play, I’m ten years younger, so… yeah.) I must say, since the two balance one another out, I won’t take it as a commentary upon my age. I can play a 19 year old as well as a 39 year old, I say I’m ok (Ha. Ha. So far people can believe the mother of two teenagers more than the 19 year old. Well, depending on who you ask. I’m just sorry I asked anyone, hehe.)

Ah yes, and I’m acting. And choreographing a dance number for me and two other gals, who I have yet to find but you know, it’ll happen.

One is a scripted commercial and the other is a half scripted/half improvised murder mystery play. The best of both worlds. I was privy to be witness to the shooting of a commercial in the same series of commercials I’m taking part in. Makes me wish I’d gone to the Art Institute of Seattle for film directing after all, lol (But don’t get me wrong, I wouldn’t want to be anything but a massage therapist now and becoming one changed my life in miraculous ways, I am immensely forever grateful to my teachers and clients and colleagues and profession.)

But don’t worry, I’m still writing (EDITING at the moment, I hardly call that RELEASING MY INNER CREATIVITY. Why yes, this word is misspelled I must take all the magical creativity within my soul and… and…. correct it! Yawn.).

It was difficult not speaking up when I was watching the director with his camera. I gave some advice but I wanted to get in there and adjust angles and pipe up with story line ideas and go hog-wild crazy, at the same time I wanted to jump in front of that camera and start going wild. It was wild, haha. REPETITIVE. Rehearse. Do it once. GREAT! Let’s try it a couple more times. I THINK THAT’S THE ONE!! Let’s do it a few more times just to be sure. TENTH TIME IS THE CHARM!!! Yeah!!!! Now, let’s do the exact same thing twice as many times from two other angles…. HEHE. All the while the man playing the bad guy is standing in the background bored to tears and absentmindedly playing with his switch blade (creepy), and I inadvertently insulted a cop (I saw him in costume and said “nice get up” I meant the compliment and he thanked me. Haha. Finding out later he was in his work clothes…. He was good humored about it. And, actually, he was a sheriff playing a cop…. In another county than the one I am located in “phew”)

(Though, nobody would take my suggestion that once the girl shot the bad guy who was going to murder her and was later giving her account of it to the cop, that he pat her on the shoulder and say “thanks for saving me a bullet”)

Anyway, that was my first taste of film acting and it was pretty incredible. I have yet to have my first taste of play acting and improvisation (other than drama class um, for the sake of my pride we’ll say “eh, just a few” years ago, because it certainly isn’t over a decade and a half or anything.) We’ll give my teacher at the time the title of “bitter ex actor taking her frustrations out on her students” and….. ACTION!

Yes I have a coach. I have not yet taken his class but he has helped me out and we get along rather well. He has faith in me and I’ll tell you, it’s a nice feeling. I have faith in me too.

So… where was I? Oh yes I started this in a mutilated prison-letter-asking-for-help-in-a-melodramatic-way and ended it with, well, this.

My sunburn itches.

Have a wonderful day!

Stacey

 

*******************************************************************************

“A professional writer is an amateur who didn’t quit.”

-Richard Bach

*******************************************************************************

cover    For more information on my published novels, click here!

thevillagepoetpress  Visit The Village Poet Press (My publishing company)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

